
STATE OF OHIO 
ADJUTANT GENERAL'S DEPARTMENT 

2825 West Dublin Granville Road 
Columbus, Ohio 43235-2789 

MEMORANDUM 

TO: State of Ohio Employees and Supervisors 

FROM: Major General Mark E. Bartman, The Adjutant General tfii cfY^ 

DATE: 17 September 2015 

SUBJECT: WORK RULE - Overtime and Compensatory Time for Exempt Employees 

REFERENCES: 
• Fair Labor Standards Act., 29 USC § 2-7, 213 as amended 
• Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 USC §207(k) 
• Section 124.18, Ohio Revised Code 
• DAS Directive No. HR-D-08 Effective Date: 09-01-2009 

GENERAL 
This directive applies only to employees who are exempt from collective bargaining. 
Compensatory time can be earned by employees only for work hours which are immediately 
necessary to the operation of the office. 

A. Overtime Exempt Employees - (Excludes Assistant Fire Chiefs) 

Work Schedules 

1. A supervisor, when not prohibited by operational needs, may approve a 
standard 40 hour work week schedule for overtime exempt employees. No 
compensatory time will be granted for office work which could have been 
completed during the 40 hour week. An overtime exempt employee who is 
required by an administrative supervisor to be in an active pay status for more 
than 40 hours in any calendar week may earn compensatory time. 

2. A supervisor, when not prohibited by operational needs, may approve a flexible 
work schedule for overtime exempt employees that permits an employee to flex 
up to 80 hours in the same pay period. No compensatory time will be granted 
for office work which could have been completed during an 80 hour flexible 
work schedule. A flexible hour overtime exempt employee who is required by 
an administrative supervisor to be in active pay status for more than 80 hours 
in the same pay period may earn compensatory time. 
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3, Pursuant to section 123:1-47-01 (A)(2) of the Administrative Code, "active pay 
status" means the conditions under which an employee is eligible to receive 
pay and includes, but is not limited to, vacation leave, sick leave, bereavement 
leave, administrative leave, compensatory time, holidays, and personal leave. 
For the purpose of determining the amount of compensatory time, active pay 
status does not include sick leave or leave used in lieu of sick leave. 

4. The following classifications are exempt from earning compensatory time. 

• Adjutant General 
• Assistant Adjutant General (Air) 
• Assistant Adjutant General (Army) 
• AQM (depending on military membership) 

Use and Accrual of Compensatory Time 

1. Compensatory time is earned on an hour-for-hour basis for hours in an active 
pay status in excess of eighty (80) hours worked in a pay period. 
Compensatory time is earned in one-tenth of one hour increments. 

2. No compensatory time can accrue nor may overtime be earned during an 
employee's lunch hour or for work completed at home. 

3. Use of compensatory time requires prior approval by a supervisor and must be 
taken at a mutually convenient time. Compensatory time may be used in 
intervals of one-tenth of one hour. 

4. Compensatory time use must be documented on a leave form signed by the 
employee and the employee's supervisor prior to leave being taken. 

5. The maximum amount of compensatory time which an employee may earn is 
120 hours. Any compensatory time earned must be used within 365 days of 
being earned. 

6. Cash payment for earned compensatory time is not permitted. Employees may 
not convert compensatory time to any other form of leave. All compensatory 
time balances will be forfeited upon termination of employment. Compensatory 
time may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation or date of 
retirement. Compensatory time earned in another state department or agency 
is not transferable. 

B. Overtime Eligible Employees - (Excludes Fire Captains) 

Work Schedules 

1. A supervisor when not prohibited by operational needs, shall approve a 
standard 40 hour work week schedule for overtime eligible employees. No 
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compensatory time or overtime will be granted for office work which could have 
been completed during the 40 hour week. An overtime eligible employee who 
is required by an administrative supervisor to be in an active pay status for 
more than 40 hours in any calendar week may earn compensatory time or 
overtime at the employee's discretion. 

2. Pursuant to section 123:1-47-01 (A)(2) of the Administrative Code, "active pay 
status" means the conditions under which an employee is eligible to receive 
pay and includes, but is not limited to, vacation leave, sick leave, bereavement 
leave, administrative leave, compensatory time, holidays, and personal leave. 
For the purpose of determining the amount of compensatory time or overtime, 
active pay status does not include sick leave or leave used in lieu of sick leave. 

Use and Accrual of Compensatory Time or Overtime 

1. Compensatory time is earned on a time and one-half (1 Vz) basis for hours in 
an active pay status more than forty (40) hours worked in any calendar week 
and is earned in one-tenth of one hour increments. 

2. Overtime shall be compensated at the rate of one and one-half (1 Vz) times the 
employee's total rate of pay for each hour worked in an active pay status more 
than forty (40) hours in any calendar week. 

3. No compensatory time can accrue nor may overtime be earned during an 
employee's lunch hour or for work completed at home. 

4. Use of compensatory time requires prior approval by a supervisor and must be 
taken at a mutually-convenient time. Compensatory time may be used in 
intervals of one-tenth of one hour. 

5. Compensatory time use must be documented on a leave form signed by the 
employee and the employee's supervisor prior to leave being taken. 

6. The maximum amount of compensatory time, which an employee may accrue, 
is 240 hours. Any compensatory time earned must be used within 365 days of 
being earned. 

7. Cash payment for earned compensatory time is permitted. Employees may 
not convert compensatory time to any other form of leave. All compensatory 
time balances will be paid upon termination of employment. Compensatory 
time may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation or date of 
retirement. No compensatory time earned in another state department or 
agency will be transferable. 
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C. Overtime Exempt Employees - Assistant Fire Chiefs ONLY 

Work Schedules 

1. Fire Chiefs, when not prohibited by operational needs, shall approve a 104 
hour work period schedule for Assistant Fire Chiefs. An Assistant Fire Chief 
who is required by an administrative supervisor to be in an active pay status 
for more than 106 hours in any pay period may earn compensatory time. 

2. Pursuant to section 123:1-47-01 (A)(2) of the Administrative Code, "active pay 
status" means the conditions under which an employee is eligible to receive 
pay and includes, but is not limited to, vacation leave, sick leave, bereavement 
leave, administrative leave, compensatory time, holidays, and personal leave. 
For the purpose of determining the amount of compensatory time, active pay 
status does not include sick leave or leave used in lieu of sick leave. 

Use and Accrual of Compensatory Time or Overtime 

1. Compensatory time is earned on an hour-for-hour basis for hours in an active 
pay status more than one hundred and six (106) hours worked in a pay period 
and is earned in one-tenth of one hour increments. 

2. No compensatory time can accrue nor may overtime be earned during an 
employee's lunch hour or for work completed at home. 

3. Use of compensatory time requires prior approval by a supervisor and must be 
taken at a mutually-convenient time. Compensatory time may be used in 
intervals of one-tenth of one hour. 

4. Compensatory time use must be documented on a leave form signed by the 
employee and the employee's supervisor prior to leave being taken. 

5. The maximum amount of compensatory time which an employee may accrue 
is 480 hours. Any compensatory time earned must be used within 365 days 
after it is earned. 

6. Cash payment for earned compensatory time is not permitted. Employees may 
not convert compensatory time to any other form of leave. All compensatory 
time balances will be forfeited upon termination of employment. Compensatory 
time may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation or date of 
retirement. Compensatory time earned in another state department or agency 
is not transferable 
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D. Overtime Eligible Employees - Captains ONLY 

Work Schedules 

1. A supervisor when not prohibited by operational needs shall approve a 104 
hour work period schedule for Captains. A Captain who is required by an 
administrative supervisor to be in an active pay status for more than 106 hours 
in any pay period may accrue compensatory time or earn overtime. 

2. Pursuant to section 123:1-47-01 (A)(2) of the Administrative Code, "active pay 
status" means the conditions under which an employee is eligible to receive 
pay and includes, but is not limited to, vacation leave, sick leave, bereavement 
leave, administrative leave, compensatory time, holidays, and personal leave. 
For the purpose of determining the amount of compensatory time or overtime, 
active pay status does not include sick leave or leave used in lieu of sick leave. 

Use and Accrual of Compensatory Time or Overtime 

1. Compensatory time is earned on a one and one-half (1 V2) basis for hours in 
an active pay status when more than one hundred sixty (160) hours are worked 
in any pay period. Such compensatory time is accrued in one-tenth of one hour 
increments. 

2. Overtime shall be compensated at the rate of one and one-half (1 V2) times the 
employee's total rate of pay for each hour worked in an active pay status more 
than one hundred sixty (160) hours in any pay period. 

3. No compensatory time can accrue nor may overtime be earned during an 
employee's lunch hour or for work completed at home. 

4. Use of compensatory time requires prior approval by a supervisor and must be 
taken at a mutually-convenient time. Compensatory time may be used in 
intervals of one-tenth of one hour. 

5. Compensatory time use must be documented on a leave form signed by the 
employee and the employee's supervisor prior to leave being taken. 

6. The maximum amount of compensatory time which an employee may accrue 
is 480 hours. Any compensatory time accrued must be used within 365 days 
of being earned. 

7. Cash payment for earned compensatory time is permitted. Employees may 
not convert compensatory time to any other form of leave. All compensatory 
time balances will be paid upon termination of employment. Compensatory 
time may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation or date of 
retirement. Compensatory time earned in another state department or agency 
is not transferable. 
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