
STATE OF OHIO 
ADJUTANT GENERAL'S DEPARTMENT 

2825 West Dublin Granville Road 
Columbus, Ohio 43235-2789 

TO: All State Employees of The Adjutant General's Department 

FROM: Major General John C. Harris Jr., The Adjutant General 

DATE: 13 August 2019 

SUBJECT: Work Rule: Management of Time and Attendance 

1. Purpose: To establish guidelines related to accrued leave authorization, work 
schedules, and recordkeeping of attendance. 

2. Policy: 

a. The state of Ohio has elected to adopt customer service hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 
p.m., Monday through Friday. All Adjutant General's Department (ADJ) divisions must 
ensure adequate staffing to perform all business and administrative functions within those 
hours. In order to provide the maximum service to Ohio residents and the public, it may be 
necessary to expand these hours within certain divisions. Certain positions, by the nature 
of their work, may also require nonstandard work schedules. 

b. By nature of their job duties, the fire protection divisions have adopted customer 
service hours of 24 hours per day/seven days per week. 

c. Each ADJ division has the responsibility and discretion to determine how adequate 
staff coverage is maintained during business hours, to include when non-standard 
schedules are required or practical and to limit the number of persons to be scheduled off 
work at any given time based on operational necessity. 

d. Every attempt will be made to ensure this policy remains consistent with the Fair 
Labor Standards Act (FLSA), Ohio Revised Code (ORC), Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 
and current collective bargaining agreement. In the event of a conflict, the FLSA, ORC, 
OAC, and/or collective bargaining agreement will prevail. 

3. Definitions: 

a. Absence Without Leave (AWOL): Any unauthorized absence from duty, to include 
but not limited to: 

1. An unapproved absence from work for which an employee has insufficient leave 
available and/or has been denied leave; 



2. Failure to report to work as scheduled without proper notice to the supervisor or 
prior approval for the absence; 

3. The unauthorized departure from the workplace prior to the completion of a shift; 

4. The unauthorized extension of breaks and/or lunch periods; or 

5. Failure to provide supporting documentation when required. 

b. Active Pay Status: Conditions under which an employee is eligible to receive pay, 
and includes, but is not limited to, vacation leave, sick leave, bereavement leave, 
administrative leave, compensatory time, holidays, and personal leave. Leave payouts are 
not considered active pay status. For the purpose of determining overtime or 
compensatory time for an employee who is eligible for overtime compensation, active pay 
status does not include sick leave or leave used in lieu of sick leave. Sick leave hours are 
not excluded when determining 1:1 compensatory time for overtime exempt employees. 

c. Compressed Workweek: An employee works 40 hours per week in less than the 
traditional five-day workweek by increasing daily hours worked (e.g., four ten-hour days, 
four nine-hour days and one four-hour day). 

d. Immediate Family: The definition of immediate family for the purposes of this policy 
is an employee's spouse or significant other ("significant other" as used in this definition 
means one who stands in place of a spouse and who resides with the employee), parent, 
child, grandparent, great grandparent, sibling, grandchild, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, 
daughter-in-law, son-in-law, mother-in-law, father-in-law, step-parent, step-child, step-
sibling, or a legal guardian or other person who stands in the place of a parent (in loco 
parentis). 

e. Job Abandonment: An employee who fails to report to work as scheduled for three 
or more consecutive work days or shifts, without notifying their supervisor or requesting 
time off, will be considered as having voluntarily terminated employment. 

f. Physician's Designee: A Physician Assistant or Certified Nurse Practitioner who 
provides patient care under a collaborative or supervisory agreement with an attending 
physician. 

g. Tardiness: Arrival up to 30 minutes after one's scheduled start time without prior 
approval from the employee's supervisor. Time in excess of 30 minutes will not be 
considered tardy but will be considered AWOL and also subject to discipline. For those in 
the fire protection classifications, an employee is tardy if they fail to call in 30 minutes prior 
to the start of their scheduled shift. 

h. Payroll Processing Monday: The Monday immediately following payday Friday and 
the end of a pay period. 

i. Payroll Processing Tuesday: The Tuesday immediately following payday Friday and 
the end of a pay period. 
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j. Fire Protection Classifications: Fire Fighters, Lieutenant Fire Fighters, Fire Station 
Captains, and Assistant Fire Chiefs. 

k. Absent Without Leave (AWOL): When an employee has insufficient leave to cover 
an absence. In the event an employee fails to properly follow the call in procedures set 
forth in this policy, they will be deemed AWOL and unable to use leave to cover the 
absence. 

I. Time Off Request (TOR): The module in Kronos by which an employee may request 
leave (e.g., vacation, sick, personal, compensatory) or a request for compensation for 
overtime or compensatory time. 

4. Guidelines: 

a. Scheduling 

(1) Supervisors reserve the right to establish work schedules for any division or 
component. Managers shall design work schedules so resources are used to maximize 
effectiveness, while being sensitive to employees' needs and complying with applicable 
collective bargaining agreements. Adequate supervision and coverage will be maintained 
at all times. 

(2) Supervisors reserve the right to change an employee's work schedule when the 
week includes a disciplinary suspension or training. 

(3) Supervisors shall establish scheduled start times, lunch periods, break times, 
and departure times after reviewing the operational needs of the office. 

(4) Alternate work schedules may be permitted once an area is adequately staffed 
to ensure customer service as outlined previously in this policy. 

(5) Supervisors reserve the right to alter scheduled start times based on changing 
operational needs or changes in staffing levels. Such changes will be made with advance 
notice in accordance with (lAW) applicable collective bargaining agreements. 

(6) On weeks that contain a state holiday, schedules for employees working a 
compressed workweek schedule may be changed to include five eight-hour shifts during 
the week including the holiday; any such schedule changes will be IAW applicable 
collective bargaining contracts. The employee will receive eight hours of holiday pay for 
the day the holiday is observed. In situations where the compressed workweek schedule 
was not changed, employees may request to use vacation, personal, or compensatory 
leave to supplement the eight hours of holiday pay. 

(7) Employees are not authorized to work overtime without the prior approval of 
their supervisor. Failure to obtain approval prior to working over an employee's regularly 
scheduled hours may result in discipline. 

(8) Employees may be authorized to flex their work schedule, but only with the prior 
approval of their supervisor. All reviews will take into account the nature of the job duties 
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to be performed, any prior discipline record, any time and attendance concerns, and 
departmental coverage levels. 

(9) The approval of a flexible work schedule is not an approval of overtime. If 
flexing is approved, overtime-eligible employees are only approved to work 40 hours in a 
week. Overtime-exempt employees are only approved to work 80 hours per pay period. 
This provision does not apply to those employees who are in the fire protection 
classifications. 

b. Payroll Reporting 

(1) Kronos is the official time and attendance system used by the ADJ. 

(2) Kronos entries must accurately reflect the time of day the employee begins and 
ends work, the hours worked each day, lunch breaks taken, and the total hours worked 
each week. 

(3) To ensure the proper, timely processing of payroll, all employees must have 
both their time and TORs in Kronos no later than noon on payroll processing Monday. All 
employees must approve their timesheet in Kronos no later than noon on payroll 
processing Monday. Failure to meet these timelines may result in delays in an employee's 
pay. 

(4) Overtime eligible employees are required to submit TORs for overtime or 
compensatory time for all time in excess of 40 hours in a work week. Overtime exempt 
employees are required to submit TORs for overtime or compensatory time for all time in 
excess of 80 hours in a pay period. All employees in the fire protection classifications are 
required to submit TORs for overtime or compensatory time for time in excess of 106 
hours in a pay period. 

(5) All TOR for overtime or compensatory time in Kronos must be submitted no later 
than noon on payroll processing Monday. Managers are required to submit a "Request for 
Overtime and/or Accrual of Comp time" to state HR by pay processing Monday. If the 
need for excess hours is known in advance, this form should be submitted prior to the work 
being performed. 

(6) Supervisors must approve all TOR, overtime requests, and compensatory time 
requests no later than 10:00 a.m. on payroll processing Tuesday. 

c. Notification of Absence 

(1) Employees shall be at their report-in location, ready to commence work, at their 
scheduled start time. 

(2) Employees who are unable to report to work as scheduled and not on previously 
approved leave are required to give reasonable notice to their supervisor or appropriate 
designee as outlined below or as soon as practical if emergency conditions prevent such 
notification. 
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(a) Those in the fire protection service must contact their supervisor no later than 30 
minutes prior to the start of shift. 

(b) All other employees must contact their supervisor or designee no later than 30 
minutes after the scheduled start time. 

(3) Supervisors will provide employees with telephone numbers of appropriate 
contacts and clarify the means of communication considered acceptable for notification 
purposes, e.g. phone call, voicemail, text message. 

(4) When an employee fails to provide timely or proper notification, the employee's 
supervisor must contact their assigned State HR Analyst for guidance. 

(5) Failure to provide proper notification of absence IAW this provision may result in 
discipline and the employee forfeiting any rights to pay for the time period which elapsed 
prior to notification, unless unusual and extenuating circumstances exist. 

(6) In cases in which an absence may extend for a long period, a supervisor may 
establish a schedule to call in on a less frequent basis. If a less frequent schedule is not 
established, the daily notification requirement will be enforced. 

(7) Physician verification or verification of other unplanned or emergency 
circumstances may be required. 

d. Tardiness 

(1) All employees should be aware of their importance to the department and the 
detrimental effect that tardiness has on operations. Employees are required to be at their 
workstations ready to commence their duties at their scheduled start time. 

(2) Employees arriving late for work must report their tardiness to their supervisor or 
appropriate designee, discuss the reasons for tardiness, and request leave. 

(3) Employees will be permitted up to two instances of tardiness for any reason, 
including sick leave requests, within any rolling 30-day period. Requests for leave related 
to tardiness that are approved under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) are excluded 
from the count of instances for the purposes of discipline or corrective action. 

e. Break and Lunch Periods 

(1) Employees, other than those in the fire protection services, are expected to take 
a lunch period each work day. No employee will be required to take less than 30 minutes 
or more than one hour for a lunch period unless mutually agreed otherwise pursuant to 
provisions of collective bargaining agreements. Lunch periods should be taken near the 
midpoint of the shift. Employees should not normally be required to work during their meal 
period. Those employees, who by the nature of their work (i.e., fire protection), are 
required by their supervisor to remain in an on-duty status during their meal period shall 
have that time counted as hours worked. 
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(2) Employees will normally receive two paid 15-minute breaks during an eight-to-
ten hour day, unless a labor agreement specifies otherwise. 

(3) Breaks will normally occur at the mid-point of each half-day of work; however, 
times may be adjusted by a supervisor. 

(4) Breaks shall be taken on the property of the workplace. 

(5) Breaks will not accumulate and will not be considered in overtime computation. 

(6) Missed breaks shall not be made up once the half-day of work has been 
completed. 

(7) Breaks shall not be used to permit reporting for duty later than scheduled or to 
leave the workplace earlier than entitled. 

(8) When on a break or lunch period, employees are not permitted to disrupt the 
work of other employees not on break or lunch period. 

(9) While on break, employees may conduct personal business provided that such 
conduct does not involve the use of state-owned or leased equipment. No employee shall 
conduct personal business while readily identifiable to the general public as an ADJ 
employee. 

f. General Leave Guidelines 

(1) Employees shall not be granted approved leave while incarcerated or on house 
arrest for any reason. Accordingly, any employee who is absent from work due to being 
incarcerated or serving a house arrest will be considered AWOL and subject to discipline. 

(2) Employees must have the amount of leave requested available at the time the 
request is submitted. Leave is not considered available for use until it appears on the 
employee's earning statement and on the date the funds are made available; and may not 
be used retroactively. 

(3) Time considered as AWOL shall be reflected as "NPDLV Non-Paid Leave" in 
Kronos with "AWOL" and a short explanation included in the comment section of the entry. 
Such entries are approved for payroll purposes only. 

(4) Employee Responsibilities 

(a) Submit requests for all leave (paid or unpaid) to account for all periods of 
absence; 

(b) Timely and accurately record all work hours; 

(c) Timely and accurately record all work hours; 

(d) Know and be accountable for their leave balances; 

(e) Assure the availability of sufficient leave to cover leave requests at the time the 
leave is taken; and 
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(f) Obtain approval in advance for any leave request, schedule adjustment, or 
deviation. 

(5) Supervisor Responsibilities 

(a) Introduce employees to the link on My0hio.gov  to Kronos; 

(b) Ensure each employee can access and use Kronos and provide training as 
required; 

(c) Contact State Human Resources if the employee would like access to the 
Kronos mobile application; 

(d) Ensure timely approval of all leave and attendance related requests; 

(e) Monitor leave balances and ensure leave usage follows agency directives; 

(f) Contact State Human Resources to provide Notice of Eligibility and Rights and 
Responsibilities to employees each time they use more than three consecutive days of 
sick leave or leave in lieu of sick leave without FMLA coverage; and 

(g) Verify time and attendance records no later than once per pay period, ensuring 
the following: 

• All times match what employees actually worked; 
• Times reported are within the correct work shift; 
• Employees required to do so have signed in and out; 
• Type of leave taken by any employee for that date is entered and accurate; 
• Accurately record any missed punch forms including entering comments into 

Kronos; 
• Employee has accurately submitted a TOR for any compensatory or overtime 

worked in that pay period; 
• Manager has submitted the Request for Overtime and/or Accrual of Comp 

time (paper form) to State Human Resources for any accrual in excess of 0.5 hours; 
• Overtime is correctly identified and/or calculated in Kronos. 

g. Specific Leave Guidelines 

(1) Sick Leave (replaces Policy Letter 5 and Policy Letter 25) 

(a) Accrual: Employees shall accrue sick leave as follows: 

• OCSEA, employees accrue sick leave at the rate of 3.1 hours for each 80 
hours in active pay status, excluding overtime hours, not to exceed 80 hours per year. 

• Fire Protection Services employees accrue sick leave at the rate of .0385 
hours of sick leave for every regularly scheduled hour in active pay status, excluding 
overtime hours, not to exceed 112 hours per year. 

• Exempt employees accrue sick leave at the rate of 3.1 hours for each 80 
hours in active pay status, excluding overtime hours. 
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(b) Authorized use: Sick leave is only permitted to be used by employees for the 
following reasons: 

• Illness, injury, or medical conditions of the employee or a member of his/her 
immediate family; 

• Medical, dental and optical appointments, or other ongoing medical treatment 
of the employee or a member of his/her immediate family; 

• Supplementation of approved Disability Leave, Workers' Compensation, or 
Childbirth/Adoption Leave; and 

• Extension of bereavement leave for death of a member of the employee's 
immediate family where bereavement leave has been approved. 

(c) Unauthorized use: The employer may take corrective and/or disciplinary action 
for unauthorized use of sick leave and/or abuse of sick leave. Evidence of unauthorized 
use or abuse of sick leave shall include, but is not limited to, the following: 

• Failure to properly notify the supervisor of a medical absence; 
• Failure to submit to a leave request; 
• Failure to provide physician's verification, return-to-work release, or other 

medical documentation when required; 
• Fraudulent documentation associated with use of sick leave; 
• Using sick leave for purposes other than intended; 
• Using more sick leave than available resulting in an unpaid status; and 
• Maintaining a zero or near-zero sick leave balance (defined as less than 21 

hours for employees in the fire protection classifications and 16 hours for all other ADJ 
employees). 

(2) Leave in Lieu of Sick Leave: Leave in lieu of sick leave shall only be granted 
when an employee has exhausted their available sick leave and either the absence is 
covered by FMLA or acceptable physician verification is received. 

(3) Physician Verification Requirements 

(a) Supervisors, with the prior approval of State Human Resources, may require 
physician verification as a condition of sick leave approval. 

(b) With concurrence from the Office of Human Resources, supervisors may require 
employees who maintain a sick leave balance of less than 16 hours to provide physician 
verification for all future non-FM LA sick leave absences. 

(c) If an employee has been placed on physician's verification notice, the 
requirement may be lifted once an employee, other than employees in Fire protection 
classifications, maintains at least 16 hours of sick leave for three consecutive pay periods. 
For those employed in the Fire Protection Classifications, they must maintain at least 21 
hours of sick leave for three consecutive pay periods. When an employee achieves this 
target level, they may notify their supervisor and the supervisor will contact State Human 
Resources to make a final determination. 
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(d) Physician verification must be from a physician or physician's designee and 
include the dates or hours the employee is excused from work. 

(e) Physician verification must be provided to the employee's immediate supervisor 
within three business days of their return to work. The date an employee returns to work 
shall be counted as day one. 

(f) Failure to provide physician verification when required may result in discipline. 

(g) When sick leave exceeds seven consecutive calendar days, a physician's 
verification statement is required upon return to work unless the employee's absence is 
related to a FMLA certification on file. 

(h) For those employed in the fire protection classifications, where an absence 
exceeds 14 consecutive calendar days, a return to work physical will be required to be 
successfully completed prior to returning to work. 

(4) Vacation Leave (replaces WORK RULE: Vacation Leave) 

Accrual - Employees shall accrue vacation leave each pay period as follows based on 80 
hours in active pay status in a pay period. Employees who have less than 80 hours in 
active pay status in a pay period will be credited at a prorated amount. 

Length of State 
Service 

Accrual Rate Hours Earned 
per 80 Hours in Active Pay 
Status 

Accrual Rate Fire Protection 
Classifications - ONLY 
Hours Earned per Regularly 
Scheduled Work Hours 

Less than 4 years 3.1 hours .0385 
4 years or more 4.6 hours .0577 
9 years or more 6.2 hours .0779 
14 years or more 6.9 hours .0865 
19 years or more 7.7 hours .0962 
24 years or more 9.2 hours .1154 

Usage Restrictions — Vacation leave shall be taken only at times mutually agreed to by 
the agency and the employee and shall be used and charged in units of one tenth (1/10) 
hour. 

• Newly accrued vacation leave is not available for use until it appears on the 
employee's earning statement and on the date the funds are made available. 

• Vacation leave may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation 
or retirement. 

• Bidding or canvassing for vacation requests shall be accomplished pursuant 
to applicable collective bargaining agreements. 

(5) Personal Leave (replaces WORK RULE: Personal Leave) 
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Accrual — Employees shall accrue personal leave as follows: 

• OCSEA employees receive 32 hours of personal leave each year. Eight 
hours of personal leave shall be credited to each OCSEA employee in the first earnings 
statements received in January, April, July, and October of each year. Employees hired 
after the start of a calendar quarter shall be credited with personal leave on a prorated 
basis 

• In lieu of receiving premium for holiday pay or overtime pay for working the 
holiday, fire protection classifications shall be credited with 54 hours of personal leave in 
the first earnings statements received in January, April, July, and October of each year. 
Employees hired after the start of a calendar quarter shall be credited with personal leave 
on a prorated basis. 

• Exempt employees receive 32 hours of personal leave in the earnings 
statement that includes December 1. Full-time employees who are hired after the start of 
a calendar quarter shall be credited with personal leave on a prorated basis. 

• Personal leave may not be used to extend an employee's date of resignation 
or retirement. 

• Requests shall be made and considered IAW collective bargaining 
agreements as applicable. 

• Personal leave shall be charged in an initial minimum unit of two hours; 
personal leave used after the initial two hour minimum unit shall be charged in units of 
one tenth (1/10) of an hour. 

• For OCSEA employees, personal leave requests submitted at least 48 hours 
in advance shall be granted. 

(6) Compensatory Time: Requests shall be made and considered IAW any 
collective bargaining agreement and/or state law as applicable. 

(7) Leave Without Pay 

(a) Leave without pay shall only be granted by supervisors in the following 
scenarios: 

• During the waiting period of approved disability leave; 
• During the waiting period of adoption/childbirth leave if elected by employee; 
• Where the absence is covered by FMLA and all other leave with the 

exception of compensatory time has been exhausted; or 

(b) Requests for leave without pay that do not meet the above requirements may be 
submitted to State Human Resources for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 

Revision History: 

This policy memorandum supersedes the following policies and/or work rules 
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WORK RULE: Vacation leave effective 29 February 2016 

POLICY LETTER 2a: Overtime and Compensatory Time for Bargaining Unit Employees 

POLICY LETTER 2b: Overtime and Compensatory Time for Exempt Employees 

POLICY LETTER 4: Time and Attendance Reports effective 5 January 2005 

POLICY LETTER 5: Sick leave for Exempt Employees effective 5 January 2005 

WORK RULE: Personal Leave effective 28 September 2015 

POLICY LETTER 19: Work Week Schedules and Work Hours for State Employee 
effective 23 April 2008 

POLICY LETTER 25: Sick Leave for Bargaining Unit Employees effective 5 January 2005 
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